Blog Series: “Letters from Russia”, Chapter 1*

Chat

*Please read the blog preceding this one called, “Blog Series Letters from Russian – Introduction” prior to reading this blog.

Image

Preface

The #1 thing you need to know is that I did NOT have the idea of doing this blog until well in to my and my friend’s conversations. It was not planned, it was spontaneous. If my Russian friend had said no to my blog request, I would have respected her wishes and would not be writing this right now.

The conversations may seem disjointed. I am going to write them in this blog exactly as they happened (leaving out personal details). Please keep in mind that my Russian friend speaks some English. I speak NO Russian, so we do the best we can. You will get the general idea of what we are trying to say, though some of the words may be jumbled. In keeping with the integrity of this piece, I will not correct any grammar; hers or mine.

I did a google image search, “USA and Russia People” and was so disappointed in the lack of photos. The only photo I found did not have people at all, rather, both countries flags (see above).

My new, sweet Russian friend has chosen her alias. She would like to be called, “Jessica Cher”. Going forward, I will refer to her as Jessica Cher. Also, please feel free to ask questions in the comments section. I will be happy to ask on your behalf. That said, I will not forward anything rude to her so negative remarks will be deleted.

Chapter 1

March 18, 2014

Our conversation began as I commented on an article in social media. I commented that I couldn’t believe how many “I don’t give a shit” comments are here.Hitler only wanted Czechoslovakia…

Jessica Cher: “Excuse me?!  Did you study history??”

Me: “You are excused. And yes, I did”.

Jessica Cher: “so if you really did, then you wouldn’t say that Hitler wanted only Czechoslovakia.”

Me: “Initially that is what he said he wanted.”

Me: “I did not realize you are from Russia. I am from the USA. I would love to discuss this with you further. Follow back?

From this point forward, most, but not all, of our conversations have been private.

Me: “Thanks for accepting my friend request. I feel honored to be able to discuss this with someone who is living in the middle of it. Please Tell me if I am wrong here. A loose example of what is happening and Crimea would be like this: I live in Miami, mostly Cubans here. Say the Cuban leader got concerned for the Cuban citizens here. The Cuban citizens in Miami voted yes so it’s* ”

Jessica Cher: “Well..I don’t know English very well,so don’t judge me if I make mistakes:)”

Me: *”Ok for Cuba to take over Miami. I don’t know Russian at all so you were doing better than me!” It would never happen.my point is Cuba has no authority over citizens here. Why should Russia have authority over citizens in Ukraine. And if you and I can talk about this why can’t our leaders? It’s really sad that people can connect but governments cannot.❤️”

Jessica Cher: “Crimea was Russian from 1783 and 50% of citizens are Russian I honestly can’t understand why the whole world thinks that Russia acts aggressively about crimea and Ucraine.*”

Me: “I understand. But now it is Ukraine. How can Russia just take it? It’s not theirs to take. Did you know all Ukraine TV is gone? Russian now.”

Me:*It’s because Putin put four times the troops and Crimea and surrounded Ukraine with troops. He says the Western world is anarchy.and he says Ukraine is to westernized. (4 times the troops may not be correct. The exact number is not known. The term “surrounded” was meant of the south and east Ukraine).

Jessica Cher: “I feel like we have absolutely different information,coz they tell us that Russian TV gone from ucraine”.

Me: “Wow. Let me make sure. I will be right back!👍👍❤️”

Jessica Cher: “Crimea is Russian now coz people who live in crimea desided so As we’re said Russia didn’t enter troops into ucraine and crimea. people who live in Crimea have Russian nationality and in the fact they have Ukrainian citizenship and they wanted to return to his homeland of historically it is obvious that it was in the interests of Russia to regain the Crimea because there our fleet. every year we pay rent for our warships and bases located in Ukraine and now we will not do this.”

Me: “But one country cannot conquer part of another country because it does not want to pay rent. If you can, check out my blog. I’ve written 2 or 3 articles about Ukraine. Also are you on Facebook Or is that monitored? We could chat more. My blog is http;//heartsnlaughs.wordpress.com.”

Jessica Cher: “in the UN Charter says that particular Crimea has the right to secede if so wants citizens it’s not about paying rent,it’s about safety of russian-speaking people who want to be a part of Russia. it was their desision,not Russian. it was very nice to talk to you because I have learned a lot of new information and if you do not mind, we can talk about it some more bc I’ve got couple of questions to you:)”.

Me: “I would love to! I’m charging my phone. Are you on Facebook?”

Jessica Cher: No, I’m on * and * only. (Sorry folks, not sharing). I’ll write you tomorrow,fine?) I live in Siberia and it’s 10 pm here now))

Me: “Wow! Yes that would be great and I will leave you a message for when you wake up as well. Night night sleep tight💤💤💤”

Jessica Cher: “Thank you .x what time is it now in Miami?”)

Me: “It’s 11:13am”

Jessica Cher: }Wow,then have a good day;)|

Me: “LOL thank you and you have a good night😎 Just in case you lose contact with me, my email is (blah blah).

Chapter Notes: This is the end of the chapter. By this point, I understand this is a young person. She just had her 17th birthday. And I automatically felt a connection with her. I think of her daily and pray for her and her family.

I hope you have enjoyed what you have read so far. There is more to come. Please comment on what you walk away from this dialogue with. I’m interested in your opinion.

This is 100% how our written conversation went down. Stay on the look out for Chapter 2.

Talk to you soon! xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

