My Blog 2/11/14 – Tirade Tuesday!

Standard

Image

When I started this blog less than a month ago, I said I would reveal myself bit by bit. A blog, to me, is not unlike writing in a diary that the entire world can read. So I proceed cautiously as I begin to peel back the layers of myself. What lurks behind my blue eyes? The short answer is LOTS. My thoughts and my attention span leap from subject to subject without pause. When my husband gets home from work, I talk to him as I happily bounce my way through my brain, commenting on anything and everything I’m thinking about. Then it happens. His eyes literally glaze over and he lovingly says to me, “Honey, I love you. But you lost me after the first sentence and I have no idea what you are talking about”.

I used to be offended. I mean, clearly, he’s not listening to me.

That is, until I realized he was 100% correct! I started paying attention to how my conversations seem to flow from one subject to another for no other reason than they are linked in my brain that way. No wonder the poor fella gets confused…he loves me anyway, deeply. So, on a daily basis, he gives it all he’s got, to listen to my day’s events and everything I thought and said throughout the day. I am someone who has too much information in my head that I want need to share. So, round about 5:45pm, he comes home to two very excited dogs who have missed him as much as I have, and me. He’s such a great sport about it though, truly.

Why do I not chat with my girlfriends instead you might ask? I am in what is a ridiculous predicament. I live in the USA, but I am considered a foreigner where I live because English is my first language. Miami, Florida…ah, there is like no city in this country like it. What is great about Miami is the same thing that sucks about Miami: multi-cultural flair. I get poked fun at by locals who love telling me there are more of “them” here than “me”. I am using “their” exact words. Not speaking spanish is a huge handicap in Miami. It’s not that you cannot survive without it, but it is impossible to make real, close friends because of the language and culture barrier. So while I have many local acquaintances, after a year in Miami, I still have no close friends.

And, make no mistake, I am NOT going to learn to speak Spanish. Not just “No”, but “Hell No”!

The last time I checked, Miami is in the United States of America. We speak English in this country. Period. So my dilemma continues…In the interest of 1) not revealing too much to soon and 2) keeping this blog from turning into a novel, I’m going to stop here. But the language barrier, I have no doubt, will creep into further blogs down the road.

Tirade complete. Enjoy your evening.

3 thoughts on “My Blog 2/11/14 – Tirade Tuesday!

    • Thanks for your comment. I didn’t get it either until I actually moved down here. I had visited Miami many times, but it is different to live here. Ex. I heard an American over my backyard fence ane I wanted to yell, “Hey, I’m here too! Let’s be friends!” LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

