From the heart of my bottom, I HATE tea.

Chat

How can I possibly be from South Carolina and hate iced tea? I grew up in the good Ole South, where everyone and I mean, everyone loves iced tea. And, of course, when we went “visitin'” (meaning showing up unannounced) with my mom, I was always offered iced tea. When I announced I didn’t like it, I swear people would like at me like I ran down the road naked. Then, the inevitable always happened, “well, how about a cup of coffee?”. Um, you guessed it, I also hate coffee (sorry Starbucks). So, I finally learned to ask for ice water, which back in the day meant ice from the freezer and tap water. Iced tea = no bueno.

You may have noticed my subject line states, “I hate tea”. That hatred does not only apply to iced tea….

Fast forward to adulthood. I married a Brit and lived in sunny England for 5+ years. They don’t drink iced tea. Yay, right? WRONG!

They are a tea drinking nation. You don’t walk into a house without hearing, “I’ll put the kettle on”, or “fancy a cuppa”? It gets worse, a lot worse. They drink it HOT, Gross, right? But that’s not even the worst of it, they put milk (yep, you read that right) in their hot tea. And some people even add lemon to it! They drink it all day everyday. It’s literally a huge part of British culture. British TV shows almost always show people drinking hot tea. Everywhere you go, you are offered a “cuppa”. GROSS!

Do you like tea? Hot or cold? Is there anyone out there that is a tea hater like me? I want to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

